Show/Hide

Cadet Program

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Cadet Advisors
Phone: 317-571-2500

Sgt. D.J. Schoeff - Advisor
Email: dschoeff@carmel.in.gov

Officer Blake Lytle - Advisor
Email: blytle@carmel.in.gov

Officer Shane VanNatter - Advisor
Email: svannatter@carmel.in.gov

Officer James Morris - Advisor
Email: jmorris@carmel.in.gov

Officer Megan Soultz - Advisor
Email: msoultz@carmel.in.gov

Officer Jason Gilmore - Advisor
Email: jgilmore@carmel.in.gov

Officer Jamie Reynolds - Advisor
Email: jreynolds@carmel.in.gov


The Carmel Police Department offers a Cadet Program to youth between the ages of 13-20.

Carmel Police Cadet Program provides opportunities for youth to explore the possibility of becoming a Police officer through education. The program matches the interests of youth with adult expertise.

The purpose of the Cadet program is to provide experiences to help young people mature and to become responsible and caring adults. These young adults learn ethical decision making through positive social interaction, leadership development, hands-on experience, problem solving skills, and service to the community.

Youth are selected for membership and then attend an eight month police academy training program, where they are shown most aspects of police work. Upon completion of the academy phase, the recruit is allowed to ride with a police officer to observe for a day. In addition, cadets are asked to work certain community functions throughout the year.

New recruit classes start in the fall of each year, however an individual can join at anytime.
The meetings are held at the Carmel Police Department,
on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 p.m.

For more information contact one of the Advisors above!