Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Carmel, Indiana City Government Structure

In Indiana, government structures mirror the federal and state levels with the executive, judicial and legislative branches. In Carmel, the executive branch is the Mayor, who manages the daily operations of the city. He is elected to a four-year term.

The judicial branch is the City Judge who oversees the City Court located in City Hall. The Carmel City Court is a court of limited jurisdiction, where traffic infractions, ordinance violations and criminal misdemeanor cases are heard and decided. The judge is elected to a four-year term.

The legislative branch is comprised of the nine-member City Council. Three members serve at large and the other six represent various districts of the city. The council is elected to four-year terms and all share the same election cycle along with the Mayor, Judge and Clerk of the City.

In addition, Indiana designated cities as first, second and third class cities based on population and governing structure. Carmel is designated as a second class city in Indiana and therefore has an elected Clerk of the City, who is also elected to four-year terms.

For more information, visit Our Government Structure.

spring City Hall, Carmel